« i found i could say things with color and shapes that i couldn't say any other way. - things i had no words for. »                                                     ~  georgia o'keeffe                                            
                          
great is the diversity of theoretical and practical models united under the term 'art therapy'.
caroline maby's approach finds strong support on the currents of jungian and buddhist psychology, on a deep knowledge of symbolism, of the arcanas of the creative process, and the practices of attention (zen).

a certified art therapist and an accredited member of the french syndicate of art-therapists (nr: acc131015), caroline maby opens her studio to individual consultations, by appointment only.

Caroline Maby | Art-Thérapeute certifiée | Saint-Malo

art holds the power to transform our life in depth.

' when words turn out to be in vain, we use images and symbols to tell our story. putting the creative process in motion through artistic practice provides access to the path to health and well-being, emotional healing, regaining the self and ultimately, transformation.''
 
in order to improve or stabilize the physical state, mental health and emotional well-being of a person, art therapy offers the opportunity to express oneself through the use of artistic mediation: drawing, painting, sculpture, writing…

by allowing access to the unconscious through drawing (or other artistic mediation), art therapy considers the process of creation as an outpouring of the psyche. to create is a unique opportunity to venture on the side of the imagination, in an authentic and spontaneous way.

"la chevelure" - interprétation

[henri matisse, 1952].

​widely recognized in anglo-saxon countries (notably u.s.a., canada and australia), the humanistic approach is still relatively innovative in france.

'humanistic art therapy offers a positive vision of the person, recognizes that each human being is unique, worthy of respect and has the right to self-determination. this approach emphasizes skills and the potential of deep change and enhances the actualization, the realization and the development of oneself. in a humanistic context, art therapy considers the psychological well-being of the person and is committed to treating him or her as a whole and not as a fragmented being.'
[extract from "découvrir l'art-thérapie, des mots sur les mots" de j. hamel et j. labrèche, ed. larousse]

it is essential first to recognize the human being as a whole.
 
it is not a question of suppressing any symptoms but of welcoming everything in order to strengthen the healthy parts of the body and the psyche.

Caroline Maby | Art-Thérapeute certifiée | Saint-Malo

in this work, creation appears as a revealing image of what hinders the development of the person or slows down their life dynamics. through collaborative analysis, the image (or writing or sculpture) is understood and then transformed in an uplifting perspective, becoming an irreplaceable tool for progress, growth, and liberation. giving meaning to one's sufferings, encouraging the renewed friendship with a benevolent image of oneself and inviting to experience of positive emotions such as confidence or joy… are the common threads towards greater resilience.

the development of loving kindness is part of the whole process towards the recognition of one's qualities and the field of possibilities, and a setting in motion towards a responsible and creative commitment of one's life and the life of others.
 
the continuous artistic practice of caroline maby as an artist safeguards her link with the creative process. her ongoing training in meditation colors her relationship to others, to phenomena, to space and to form.
the depth of these complementary foundations is the signature of her specific integrative style.

caroline maby is also the founding director of the npo elovution. elovution is promoting art therapy and art practice to support the most vulnerable people , especially children in nedd.

« il ne s'agit pas d'atteindre la perfection mais la totalité.. »        ~ carl gustav jung
 
grande est la diversité des modèles théoriques et des pratiques réunis sous le terme d' 'art-thérapie'.
l'accompagnement proposé par caroline maby s'appuie sur les courants de psychologie jungienne et humaniste, et une profonde connaissance de la symbolique, des arcanes du processus créatif et des pratiques de l'attention (zen).

art therapeutic certifiée et membre accréditée de la fédération française des art-thérapeutes (nr: acc131015), caroline maby ouvre son atelier à des consultations individuelles sur rendez-vous.

Caroline Maby | Art-Thérapeute certifiée | Saint-Malo

l'art détient le pouvoir de transformer notre vie en profondeur.

' quand les mots se révèlent vains, nous nous tournons vers les images et les symboles pour raconter notre histoire. mettre en mouvement le processus créatif par une pratique artistique donne accès au chemin vers la santé et le bien-être, la guérison émotionnelle, la reconquête de soi et finalement la transformation.'

en vue d'améliorer ou de stabiliser l'état physique, la santé mentale et le bien-être émotionnel d'une personne, l'art-thérapie propose de s'exprimer par l'usage d'une médiation artistique: le dessin, la peinture, la sculpture, l'écriture…

en permettant un accès à l'inconscient par le dessin (ou autre médiation artistique), l’art-thérapie considère la création comme un moyen d’accès privilégié à la psyché: créer devient une opportunité unique de s'aventurer sur le versant de l'imaginaire, d'une manière authentique et spontanée.

"la chevelure" - interprétation

[henri matisse, 1952].

très largement reconnue dans les pays anglo-saxons (notamment u.s.a., canada et australie), la perspective humaniste est encore relativement innovante en france.

'l'art-thérapie humaniste propose une vision positive de la personne, reconnaît que l'être humain est unique, digne de respect et qu'il a le droit à l'auto-determination. cette approche insiste sur les compétences et le potentiel de changement de l'être et met l'accent sur l'actualisation, la réalisation et le développement de soi. dans un contexte humaniste, l'art-thérapie vise le mieux-être psychologique de la personne et s'engage à traiter celle-ci comme une totalité et non comme un être morcelé.'
[extrait de "découvrir l'art-thérapie, des mots sur les mots" de j. hamel et j. labrèche, ed. larousse]

essentiel est d'abord de reconnaitre l'être humain dans sa globalité.

il ne s'agit pas de supprimer le symptôme mais de l'accueillir en vue de renforcer les parties en santé du corps et de la psyché.

Caroline Maby | Art-Thérapeute certifiée | Saint-Malo

ainsi, la création apparaît comme une représentation révélatrice de ce qui entrave l’épanouissement de la personne ou freine sa dynamique de vie. analysée dans l'échange, comprise puis transformée dans une perspective élévatrice, l'image (ou l'écrit, le modelage...) devient un irremplaçable outil de progrès, de croissance et de libération. donner un sens à ses souffrances, encourager l'amitié retrouvée avec une image bienveillante de soi et inviter à expérimenter des émotions positives comme la confiance ou la joie… sont les fils conducteurs vers une résilience possible.

l'accompagnement dans la bienveillance se fait alors vers la reconnaissance de ses qualités, l'accueil des possibles et une mise en mouvement vers un engagement responsable et créateur de sa vie.

la pratique artistique continue de caroline maby est garante de son lien avec le processus créatif. celle de la méditation colore son rapport à l'autre, au phénomène, à l'espace et à la forme.
la profondeur de ces sous-jacents complémentaires est la signature de son style intégratif.

caroline maby dirige en parallèle l'association elovution qu'elle a fondée. elovution est dédiée à promouvoir l'art-thérapie auprès d'enfants en difficulté.